Deleting a file or reformatting a disk does not destroy your sensitive data. it can easily be retrieved so to avoid this in this tutorial I show you how to securely delete sensitive data in Ubuntu.
You need to install Nautilus-Actions to take advantage of this feature or you can use the shred command in terminal.