Featured content is the best way to promote a new video to all of your fans. Featured content enables you to embed a chosen video or playlist across all of the videos on your channel and ensures that returning subscribers to your channel see your featured content first.
This feature was previously known as “Invideo Programming”.
HOW TO ENABLE FEATURED CONTENT:
You can feature content in two ways:
From your channel homepage:
Open your channel homepage with the browse view enabled
Click the pencil icon under the section for returning subscribers
Select the content that you’d like to feature from the available options
or
Channel Settings:
Click the pencil icon on the right side of your channel just below your banner and select Channel settings
From the left bar under Channel settings, click on Feature content
Select the content that you’d like to feature from the available options
Feature a video or playlist
After clicking on Featured content, you can choose to feature a video or a playlist.
Most recent upload: to automatically feature the most recently uploaded video
Specific video or playlist: select any video or playlist you want to feature from your uploads or enter a YouTube video or playlist URL. You can also add a custom message that will appear alongside the featured content.
Optimize timing: If selected, YouTube will try to choose the best time to show your promotion, based on past viewer behavior in each video. If a customised start time is also been specified, this time will be used as a fallback if no better time can be determined.
The content you have selected will display consistently across devices in the bottom left corner and appear in the what to watch next module for subscribed viewers. It will also include a label with the video or playlist information that appears when you hover over the icon.
You can program any public video or playlist regardless of whether you’ve uploaded it or not. Nevertheless, you may not use Featured content to sell advertising, sponsorships, or promotions. Such activity would violate YouTube Terms of Service and may result in loss of access to the tool and/or termination of the YouTube account.
You can get information about the performance of your Featured content and Branding watermark in the Annotations report in YouTube Analytics.