This video was created to show TP-Link the problem. The head tech at TP-Link Canada was able to reproduce the issue and reported it to HQ.
Here is the response from TP-Link HQ:
---
Hello Ben,
The reason this happens is because the latest firmware adopts the more secure password protection mechanism to avoid some security holes, thus re-encrypting the password. We recommend to do the firmware upgrade before deployment to avoid the need to manually reconfigure.
Best regards,
---
I replied with:
This is not very helpful as most users that actually upgrade firmware would have already deployed and configured them before the upgrade was available...
---
Sound link this is a permanent bug. You're going to have to re-enter all your settings...
made with ezvid, free download at http://ezvid.com