The Lutheran Church of Saints Peter and Paul on Nevsky Prospect, also known as Petrikirche, has a fascinating history.
The first church was consecrated in 1730 in honor of Saints Peter and Paul.
In late 1937, the church was closed, its property was plundered, and the church staff were executed. In 1963, the church building was converted into a swimming pool for the Baltic Shipping Company.
In 1993, the building was returned to the Lutheran congregation, and reconstruction began, restoring the church to its original appearance.