Most of us don't delete unwanted email messages.
As a result, much storage space is taken up over time.
If you allow this to continue, Google will notify you that your Gmail storage space is almost full.
To overcome this problem, delete messages you no longer need.
For example, you may want to delete messages from a particular sender you no longer need.
Search for the sender and you will have all the messages listed.
Then, hit the trash icon at the top.
The deleted messages will disappear from the list. They are, however, not permanently deleted.
They are sent to the trash folder.
In case you accidentally deleted a message. You can recover it from this trash folder.
Deleted messages in the trash folder still take up storage space, although they have been deleted.
To clear storage space, you must permanently delete messages from the trash folder.
To do this, navigate to the left panel on your Gmail dashboard.
Click on the More arrow down button.
Next, select trash.
Here you will see a list of messages on the top right. You can see the number of messages in the trash bin.
You can choose the oldest or newest messages by clicking on it.
You can select your messages according to time as well.
You're given various time options.
You can permanently delete up to 100 messages at any one time by clicking on the box on the top right when you do that
Once the box is selected, the Delete Forever option appears. Go ahead and click on it
Your messages will now be permanently deleted
from your Gmail trash folder.
Now, go ahead and give the above steps a try.